Volvo Race - Dongfeng leads breakaway

A split has developed, with Dongfeng, Turn The Tide and MAPFRE gybing early to the north

Dongfeng Race Team (Charles Caudrelier) gybed to the north just before 13:00 UTC on Monday, they were joined by Turn The Tide on Plastic (Dee Caffari) and then later by MAPFRE (Xabi Fernández).

This group are struggling with light winds, while Team Brunel (Bouwe Bekking) have continued to lead to the southeast to the stronger breeze, with Team AkzoNobel (Simeon Tienpont) and Vestas 11th Hour Racing (Charlie Enright).

Sun Hung Kai Scallywag (David Witt) went to the southeast, gybed north Tuesday morning around 06:00 UTC and then back and now heads to join the leading group.

The Southern fleet has gybed now all as well and is going through the transition zone. They have made big gains to the Northern fleet but are slowing down now as well.

Leg 9 Positions as at 19:32 UTC on Tuesday 22 May:

1. Team Brunel (Bouwe Bekking) -- distance to finish -- 2,287 nautical miles
2. Vestas 11th Hour Racing (Charlie Enright) + 5 nm
3. Team AkzoNobel (Simeon Tienpont) + 6 nm
4. Dongfeng Race Team (Charles Caudrelier) + 44 nm
5. Turn The Tide on Plastic (Dee Caffari) + 47 nm
5. Sun Hung Kai Scallywag (David Witt) + 63 nm
7. MAPFRE (Xabi Fernández) + 65 nm

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here