Volvo Race - Gothenburg In-Port Race

Vestas 11th Hour Racing win the Gothenburg In-Port Race - Video here

The biggest battle was between the two teams with Dutch skippers, where Bouwe Bekking’s Team Brunel leads Simeon Tienpont’s team AkzoNobel by just two points in the fight for the final podium spot.

Vestas 11th Hour Racing win the Gothenburg In-Port Race, second team AkzoNobel and third MAPFRE.

With one In-Port Race left in The Hague, MAPFRE can now not be overtaken on the leaderboard.

The second place finish for Simeon Tienpont’s AkzoNobel team moves his crew into a podium position for the series, just two points ahead of Team Brunel.

Fourth to finish Turn the Tide on Plastic, fifth Sun Hung Kai / Scallywag, sixth Team Brunel and seventh Dongfeng Race Team.

Final Volvo Race leg 11 starts Thursday 21 June.

The race for the title is between MAPFRE, Team Brunel and Dongfeng Race Team. Whoever among them finishes the leg to The Hague ahead of the others, will win the Volvo Ocean Race 2017-18.

It marks the closest finish in the 45-year history of the race.

Current Volvo Ocean Race In-Port Race Series Points Table

1. MAPFRE – 61 points
2. Dongfeng Race Team – 50 points
3. team AkzoNobel – 45 points
4. Team Brunel – 43 points
5. Vestas 11th Hour Racing – 33 points
6. Sun Hung Kai / Scallywag – 24 points
7. Turn the Tide on Plastic – 21 points

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here